Mirrors Within Mirrors

Photo credit: Azarius

Do you remember that strange, recursive effect, when you are sitting in a barber shop or hair-cutting salon and there is a mirror in front of you and a mirror behind you?  Mirrors within mirrors within mirrors….very Godel, Escher, Bach. Or maybe more like Alice in Wonderland….

Well, I just created the same effect, but this time in the virtual world.  Thanks to my buddies at Tools.Jam (organized every week by the amazing Jenn Forager, Tuesdays at 12:30 EST), I learned about a desktop sharing application called YuuGuu. This is not a free application, but they do have a free 7-day trial.  So I signed up, downloaded the app, and started up a desktop sharing session (you can have as many as 30 people in your session).  YuuGuu gives you a url and a PIN to share with those you are inviting to gaze at your desktop.  Then I fired up Second Life, rezzed a media screen, and plopped the YuuGuu url into the web-on-a-prim address field.  Zooming in on the screen, I entered the PIN number and hit the “connect” button…and voila!  There I was, as my avatar, Spiral Theas, looking at Spiral Theas on Robin’s desktop.  I think my head is going to explode. Dang, that’s cool

Spiral Theas, looking at Spiral Theas on Robin's desktop.

11 Comments

Filed under Tools, Virtual Worlds

11 responses to “Mirrors Within Mirrors

  1. What fun! and a great post.

  2. Liz Dorland

    Cool! Since Chimera was late, I almost forgot what you guys Weser testing out. Will have to try that. Wondering how it will be foroutsiders to look in.

  3. Tod Duncan

    My head just broke. Great.

    :o)

  4. Pingback: Yuuguu – The future of work » Blog Archive » Like a wheel within a wheel

  5. Barb

    Can we use your photo mirrors within mirrors in our newsletter if we credit Azarius? Thanks.

  6. Naoufel

    how you are making this picture “” Photo credit: Azarius”” and thanks

  7. Zack F

    May I also use the photo for a school project?

  8. Pingback: Infinita oglindă | fromtheskytothecenter

  9. Pingback: Eye got to know. | janelliguiang

Leave a Reply

